Saturday Saints- #121

It has been a while since I wrote a post in this series, so it seems only appropriate that I bring it back. We left off with the letter “M”, which means that today’s letter is “N.” Thus, our saint for today is Saint Naum:

Saint Naum (Bulgarian and Macedonian: Свети Наум, Sveti Naum), also known as Naum of Ohrid or Naum of Preslav (c. 830 – December 23, 910) was a medieval Bulgarian writer, enlightener, one of the seven Apostles of the First Bulgarian Empire and missionary among the Slavs. He was among the disciples of Saints Cyril and Methodius and is associated with the creation of the Glagolitic and Cyrillic scripts. Naum was among the founders of the Pliska Literary School and is venerated as a saint in the Orthodox Church.

More can be found out about his life at his wiki, located here.

saintnaum

7 Comments

Filed under Saturday Saints

7 responses to “Saturday Saints- #121

  1. Good to have the Saints series back. 🙂 There’s so much to be learned by their lives.

    My boyfriend’s Mom gave me a great book for Christmas about the lives of some of the Saints called “Lives of the Saints: for every day in the year” written by Fr. Alban Butler. I think you’d really like this book Donal. Going through this book daily over the course of this year has already yielded some fascinating Saints with lives that make you say “wow.”

  2. Ah yes, another book I will never have the time to read….

  3. LOL, it only takes about a minute per day, or less. And about one page per day, on average. It’s like a “Saint of the day” kind of thing, with the days actually labeled in the heading that tells the name of the Saint. (It seems to be arranged by the Saint’s feast days, if I’m not mistaken). I’m literally going through it over the course of this year, and not reading ahead.

    Surely you have time for one minute per day. 🙂

  4. MK

    Going through this book daily over the course of this year…I’m literally going through it over the course of this year, and not reading ahead.

    I see it on Kindle for $10, I’m sold. I give cash for the weekly collection, and today I ran out of cash exactly $10 short. God’s trying to tell me something. Excited to try it.

  5. Novaseeker

    You may also want to look into a Menaion, Donal, which has the lives of the saints for most days on the Byz calendar. One I use is called The Great Horologion (made by HTM), because it has a Menaion section which has good concise lives of the saints that can be read in a minute or two and are very enriching. I think some of this is available online but it can be a bit spotty.

  6. I gave a little plug to your site here:

    https://americandadweb.wordpress.com/2017/01/23/why-create-any-of-it-at-all/

    It probably won’t come in anywhere as a linkback.

  7. Thanks Novaseeker. I will check it out.

Leave a Reply

