Never Enough

I was in a conversation recently at church in which the discussion turned towards Christians who held (what those present) considered to be pretty obviously heretical beliefs. Several of the men present (it was an all male conversation) expressed a belief that ignorance was the biggest problem. They felt that if people were better educated it would got a long way towards solving the problem.

I disagreed. In my opinion it isn’t a lack of received truth on most people’s part. The problem is found in the heart, not the mind. No amount of proof will work for them. Case in point:

19 “There was a rich man who was dressed in purple and fine linen and who feasted sumptuously every day. 20 And at his gate lay a poor man named Lazarus, covered with sores, 21 who longed to satisfy his hunger with what fell from the rich man’s table; even the dogs would come and lick his sores. 22 The poor man died and was carried away by the angels to be with Abraham. The rich man also died and was buried. 23 In Hades, where he was being tormented, he looked up and saw Abraham far away with Lazarus by his side. 24 He called out, ‘Father Abraham, have mercy on me, and send Lazarus to dip the tip of his finger in water and cool my tongue; for I am in agony in these flames.’ 25 But Abraham said, ‘Child, remember that during your lifetime you received your good things, and Lazarus in like manner evil things; but now he is comforted here, and you are in agony. 26 Besides all this, between you and us a great chasm has been fixed, so that those who might want to pass from here to you cannot do so, and no one can cross from there to us.’ 27 He said, ‘Then, father, I beg you to send him to my father’s house— 28 for I have five brothers—that he may warn them, so that they will not also come into this place of torment.’ 29 Abraham replied, ‘They have Moses and the prophets; they should listen to them.’ 30 He said, ‘No, father Abraham; but if someone goes to them from the dead, they will repent.’ 31 He said to him, ‘If they do not listen to Moses and the prophets, neither will they be convinced even if someone rises from the dead.’”

(Luke 16:19-31)

You can tell people the truth, you can show them the truth, but if they don’t want to accept it, and its implications, they will simply reject it, and choose a more preferable interpretation. That is not to say that ignorance is good- it isn’t. We are called to tell the Truth, even if we know people will reject it. Sometimes error really is a product of ignorance- that was my case for much of my life.

The key is not to be disheartened when people do reject the Truth (in whatever form and case it may be).

Naturally enough, this also applies to the “Red Pill.” Of course, the Red Pill isn’t really “truth” per se. Rather, it is merely an exposure to the fact that one has been living a lie. (NSR has a good write-up on that here.) But all the same- plenty of folks will choose the lie, even after they have been told (and shown) it to be a lie. For them, there is never enough evidence to support your argument (whatever it may be). All you can do is carry on.

14 The mind of a fool is like a broken jar;
    it can hold no knowledge.

(Sirach 21:14)

10 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Churchianity, God, Moral Agency, The Church

10 responses to “Never Enough

  1. chokingonredpills

    I have this great desire to share what I have learnt in the Christian manosphere (from the past few years) with Christian men, particularly bachelors. The biggest barrier I have is rejection (and I may find it hard to separate the two — rejecting my intention and my friendship).

    The experience I had in sharing within my small group about the nature of women backfired and I was warned by my pastor that I should never do it again. In some ways, this is extremely disappointing but not the least surprising. I guess I have to do it in some other ways and to some other men, whoever God sends to my life.

    Thanks for sharing this. It resonated.

  2. @ choking

    Yeah, I generally keep my opinions to myself until I figure out if they are ‘ready’ a bit of Truth, and I never do it in a group setting.

  3. Unplugging chumps from the Matrix is dirty work.

  4. @ CORP

    Very few have a good track record of convincing people at Church that they are living a lie when it comes to female nature. Don’t beat yourself up over it.

    @ DS

    Same.

    @ Rollo

    Ain’t it?

    I am thinking of writing a post on the subject of helping people “unplug” sometime soon. It is an important subject, and not one I think I’ve addressed before.

  5. I think unplugging chumps will be a gradual and long-drawn process but may be hastened if said chump became a victim of the female nature. Adam knew the truth but still became distracted and fell into the serpent’s trap. It took Jesus’ dying on the cross to undo all of that and offer a way for humanity’s relationship with God to be restored.

    Having articulated these thoughts and reading your comments, perhaps it might be easier to reach out to other men who are direct victims and burned by feminism’s greatest attacks. Yet, my heart is still for the younger men and teenagers who have been and are indoctrinated by years of feminist conditioning, especially when it comes to relationships with women. I may not be the best model for masculinity but at the very least, introducing some concepts of Christian and godly masculinity will give them enough info to figure things out on their own and for the rest of their lives.

    I hate to entertain the concept of “never enough”; I want to stand with the men — young and old.

    DS and DG, thanks for your comments.

  6. @ choking

    Victims can go either way. They’ll either double down (e.g. not all women are like that) or they will start to hear what you have to say. I haven’t really seen any rhyme or reason for which way they may tilt.

    Generally, I think the best way is to point out real life examples around you. Bonus points if you can call out behavior before it happens. One of the ways I get people is just by saying certain couples are not going to work out or when I see a the body language of men or women you can tell what’s going to happen.

  7. feeriker

    Very few have a good track record of convincing people at Church that they are living a lie when it comes to female nature. Don’t beat yourself up over it.

    Exactly. It’s especially disheartening because we want more than anything to convince ourselves that the Church is a body dedicated to advancing TRUTH, no matrer how initially painful. That this is just not the case, that the body of believers is, on many levels, just as badly deceived as the world, just makes us want to fight that much harder.

    Patience and much prayer are in order. God’s timing is always perfect.

  8. Lost Patrol

    First time posting here and would like to say I appreciate the work that goes into it. I’ve started airing out some of the truths I’ve learned from blogs for men, and have encountered some version of everything related above.

    I’ve tried to guard against the overly zealous approach of the newly converted – because I know I would be prone to that and have already shocked some church members – but I’m with @CORP in this sentiment:

    “Yet, my heart is still for the younger men and teenagers who have been and are indoctrinated by years of feminist conditioning, especially when it comes to relationships with women.”

    I plan to ‘do all I can do and carry on’.

    Also, I wish you guys would stop referring to me as the chump.

  9. Coastal

    @donalgraeme

    I think a post on helping Churchians’s ‘unplug’ would be great, along with examining how swallowing the ‘pill’ tends to change your relationships with others in a church setting.

  10. Pingback: Pulling The Plug | Donal Graeme

Leave a Reply

