Selected Sunday Scriptures- #93

Today’s rather short post begins with a Psalm of King David:

The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want;
    he makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters;
    he restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness
    for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
    I fear no evil;
for thou art with me;
    thy rod and thy staff,
    they comfort me.

Thou preparest a table before me
    in the presence of my enemies;
thou anointest my head with oil,
    my cup overflows.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
    all the days of my life;
and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord
    for ever.

(Psalm 23:1-6)

I sometimes wonder during which part of his life David wrote this Psalm. Before he was king? After? Was it a single event? Or perhaps a composite of different times, with different writings, that were all put together later (presumably by his son Solomon).

However it was written, it is a powerful message of hope and trust in the Lord despite the most dire of circumstances. When I find myself giving in to despair, it remains for me one of the most effective means of reassurance. Sadly, I need that reassurance more often than I would like. My life is far from a disaster, but there are certainly burdens and trials I would rather not have to endure. I have asked God for help in this, but I suspect my answer is that same as that given to Paul:

And to keep me from being too elated by the abundance of revelations, a thorn was given me in the flesh, a messenger of Satan, to harass me, to keep me from being too elated. Three times I besought the Lord about this, that it should leave me; but he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” I will all the more gladly boast of my weaknesses, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities; for when I am weak, then I am strong.

(2 Corinthians 12:7-10)

As difficult as it may be to carry on, it is comforting still to know that God’s Grace is sufficient to overcome my own weakness. Even when I think I can’t, I know that He can. It is a difficult thing, to explain how this affects me. On the one hand I am saddened, as I realize that things may not get better for me (at least as I see it). But on the other, I know that it will all turn out well in the end. Perhaps it is not something that can really be explained, but only experienced. Time will tell, I suppose.

3 Comments

Filed under Selected Sunday Scriptures

3 responses to “Selected Sunday Scriptures- #93

  1. mdavid

    DG, I realize that things may not get better for me (at least as I see it).

    I have always found solace meditating on how short my life is, like a day calendar where I don’t know how many days are left in it. Every day is precious beyond belief (even the Angels are in awe of our bodies). What do I have to show for each day? My life is the pile of those used calendar pages. What will I have to show at the end of it all?

    Strangely, my thorns always hinge on: a) diet, b) exercise, c) social sloth, d) lack of spiritual discipline (fasting, confession, prayer). So I try to make them non-negotiable, set times. When I can, life becomes an adventure again because no matter how hard it is I am happily exhausted at the end of the day. Moving forward towards God’s plan, not my own will, which is to do a little as possible..

  2. I have always found solace meditating on how short my life is, like a day calendar where I don’t know how many days are left in it. Every day is precious beyond belief (even the Angels are in awe of our bodies).

    I thought it was our spirits they were awe of. But that aside, I agree that holding each day to be a gift is the right approach.

  3. mdavid

    Angels are pure spirit (origin, no end), men spiritual souls with bodies.

    My awe comment is better said below by Kolbe/Isaac:

    “If angels could be jealous of men, they would be so for one reason: Holy Communion.” – St. Maximilian Kolbe

    The angel who is always near us is distressed and indignant when we reject Holy Communion. For at that hour…the Holy Spirit descends and consecrates the Body and Blood and grants remission to creation. The angels stand with great awe, fear, and joy…experiencing inexpressible astonishment. The angel who is always by us is consoled, because he also partakes in that spectacle. – St. Isaac the Syrian

Leave a Reply

