Some Recommended Reading

Here are a few posts or articles that I would encourage the patrons of my blog to read.

Beefy Levinson demonstrates how there is much wisdom to be found in the past when he dissects the Germanic saga The Nibelungenlied.

My Catholic readers will want to read this post, which contains an open letter to the Church by Archbishop Jan Lenga. It is a sobering read, and then some.

Cane Caldo has been batting a 1.000 lately with a series of posts he’s written in the last week or so. The first one is here. The second is here. Third is here. The fourth can be found here. Finally, the most recent (and last?) post can be found here.

I really liked this post on Performance and Desire by Deep Strength.

In case anyone is still asking, the answer is yes, the inmates have, in fact, taken over the asylum.

Elspeth clued me in to this post by Lori Alexander asking Are All Men Buffoons? I mention it because I used to read the Berenstain Bear books when I was young. Until now I had never really considered their message. Now I wonder just how much poison I sucked up as a kid from “children’s books” without even realizing it. Makes me want to go back over them and find out.

Speaking of going back over old works, Cail Corishev has started to analyze some “older” movies through a Red Pill lens. He started with Godzilla (1998), and recently went over Independence Day. I cannot wait for others.

That is all I have for now. I might add more links later.

30 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Red Pill, The Church

30 responses to “Some Recommended Reading

  1. Thanks for the link brother.

  2. Elspeth

    I was hoping someone would see and appreciate that post by Lori. It reveals a lot about how long we have been inundated with misandry. Even before it was popular.

  3. Feminine But Not Feminist

    That’s both interesting and sad about children’s books having such a message. I don’t remember reading the Bernstiens Bears books specifically when I was a kid, but I would’ve thought that the children’s books back then wouldn’t have been as bad as what they put out today. Looks like I was wrong about that. All but just a few of mine were either given away or sold in a yard sale years ago, or I would go back and read them out of curiosity.

    It wouldn’t be a bad idea if more traditionally minded people were to write some traditionally based children’s books, simply to offer something better than the ones out these days that promote liberal propaganda. With the modern ability to self-publish, anyone with a talent for writing and for imagining things from a child’s perspective could probably pull it off.

  4. mdavid

    I remember Bernstiens fondly (although we don’t have them). I always saw the “stupid father” and “supportive mom” meme as pro-family…the father never loses his authority and the mom runs around supporting him even though he’s a dolt. Interesting, how one views things. I still remember Inside Outside Upside Down!

    Powerful archbishop article. Gives me hope. If Christianity was by analogy a stock, the price is very, very low today. Jesus is clearly looking for people to suffer with Him, and all those graces have nowhere to go. Everyone loves to claim Jesus, but nobody, especially bishops, really want to suffer with HIm. It’s pretty dang obvious who is the real deal…even the pagans can tell!

  5. That Beefy Levinson article was really interesting, thanks!

  6. Elspeth

    @ Mdavid:

    I think some of us are now seeing the Berenstain’s in light of the whole cultural meme of stupid married dads instead of judging the books individually.

    The bumbling father with the sage wife who cleans up his mess while allowing him to save authoritative face looks much different now than it did way back when we were kids. For a lot of different reasons/

  7. Insanity, two points.

    First, whatever your intended effect with that post, I think you missed the mark. It came off as a bit of a rant and strawman argument. It need not do so, mind you, as I’ve seen comments make the points you assert. Your post would be far more persuasive (if that was your intent?) if you were to link to comments and posts which actually stated those positions under each one.

    Second, I’m not sure what great overarching point your post is trying to make that brings it to the level of the posts I’ve linked. I mean, its basically “Churchians preach bad doctrine! News at 11.” Nothing new here at all. Bad doctrine and false teaching is the norm now.

  8. “It came off as a bit of a rant..”

    It is a rant. I didn’t link to each comment and refute it, because people know perfectly well what I am speaking of. They’ve heard it. They’ve seen it, They’ve rejected religion because of it.

    “Bad doctrine and false teaching is the norm now.”

    But it need not be that way! Does no one care that people are being driven away from faith, away from Christ, because of this kind of abuse?

  9. Setting aside the first point insanity, I’ll just cover the second.

    But it need not be that way! Does no one care that people are being driven away from faith, away from Christ, because of this kind of abuse?

    I do care about people being driven from the faith. I would say it is a significant component of my blog. What exactly can I, or nearly anyone else out there, do about it though (it being that particular brand of bad doctrine)? I suppose I can write blog posts against it. And I think I have written against some of those points before, in fact. But that is all I can do.

    Furthermore, my time and energy are not limitless. I blog as much as I dare, and probably more than I should. And I’m not really convinced that the kind of nonsense you’ve highlighted is as great a concern as many of the other topics I cover on this blog. Or others cover. The manosphere is a very small part of the web. Its reach is small, and those people are a small sub-set within them. Their influence is miniscule compared to other Churchians. As a matter of efficiency my time (and I would argue that of others) is better spent on far more influence, and dangerous, false doctrines.

  10. I’m sorry, I did not mean to imply that you could fix it all.

    “Their influence is miniscule compared to other Churchians. As a matter of efficiency my time (and I would argue that of others) is better spent on far more influence, and dangerous, false doctrines.”

    I cannot think of more important false doctrine to address, one that impacts every aspect of our lives, one that got us kicked out the Garden of Eden, one that required Christ’s sacrifice. This is why feminism exists, this is why marriage is no longer favored, this is why people are leaving faith.

    But I appreciate your response and thank you for your time.

  11. I cannot think of more important false doctrine to address, one that impacts every aspect of our lives, one that got us kicked out the Garden of Eden, one that required Christ’s sacrifice. This is why feminism exists, this is why marriage is no longer favored, this is why people are leaving faith.

    Say what? I don’t think we are on the same page here. What false doctrine exactly are we talking about here?

  12. The doctrine frequently promoted by the Christian manosphere that declares that Eve is the root of all evil and that women have no worth and value, men so absorbed in theology and their own brokenness they cannot even see the harm they do.

  13. Insanity, I cannot see how this:

    The doctrine frequently promoted by the Christian manosphere that declares that Eve is the root of all evil and that women have no worth and value

    is what is behind this:

    I cannot think of more important false doctrine to address, one that impacts every aspect of our lives, one that got us kicked out the Garden of Eden, one that required Christ’s sacrifice. This is why feminism exists, this is why marriage is no longer favored, this is why people are leaving faith.

    The doctrine promoted by some in the manosphere that “Eve is the root of all evil” is one only promoted by a few. A loud few, to be certain, but only a few. And they are far, far far from the mainstream. This doctrine has never held water with any major Christian denomination as far as I know. Not was it in play in the earlier (or early) days of the Church. And to link it to the existence of feminism? And why marriage is no longer favored? And people leaving the faith? I am sorry, but I’m not following here. Perhaps you could write a post explaining how all of that works out, as it is a stretch that my mind is having trouble grasping (unless of course you’ve already written it, in which case you can leave the link).

  14. Feminine But Not Feminist

    @ insanity

    This is why feminism exists

    Nope. Feminism exists because women desire to be in control, which is part of our Curse from the Garden. It’s why, even if a man is doing everything right (I’m not saying men always do), a woman’s natural inclination is to try and challenge him, to be in control, even if/when it’s not in our best interests to do so. To refrain from doing so must be done consciously and on purpose, even for those of us who are mellow by nature and see the importance of (and want to) submit.

  15. Why do you suppose so many women desire to be in control? Because it’s the only rational choice when all your authority figures have taught you that authority is unjust and something to fear.

    How can I good conscience teach anyone about submission when there are Christian men in the world using scripture to promote hatred and violence against women?

  16. Tru

    Thanks! I’ll have to check out more of the betasphere.

  17. Feminine But Not Feminist

    @ insanity

    Why do you suppose so many women desire to be in control?

    Insert my last comment here.

    We’ve desired control since the Garden. It’s got nothing to do with what we’ve been “taught.” To say it does is to shift responsibility from our own sinful natures to men’s sinful natures. They’ve got their issues (for lack of a better word off the top of my head), and we’ve got ours. And this is one of ours.

    I can, in good conscience, “teach submission” because that’s what God wants us to do, which is clearly seen by reading Scripture. You’re making a straw man by talking about “Christian” men “using Scripture to promote hatred and violence against women.” For one thing, I’ve never seen anyone do that. For another, if a man were to do that, he wouldn’t be an actual Christian.

  18. “For one thing, I’ve never seen anyone do that..”

    Okay, but I’ve blogged about it extensively. You can also read all the comments from people who know exactly what I’m talking about and left faith because of the kind of abuse I blogged about today. Abuse I have certainly received myself from so called Christian men in emails.

    I’m not the least bit interested in blaming men, I’m interested in fixing the problem because it’s driving people away from faith and causing even more women to reject submission and often Christ entirely.

  19. fringed

    @ insanity:

    “The doctrine frequently promoted by the Christian manosphere that declares that Eve is the root of all evil and that women have no worth and value”

    I have been reading the Christian manoshere for three years now. I have frequently read quite the opposite, that according to our Creator, men and women (according to the bible) have equal value, worth and loved by God. The difference is in our God mandated roles, i.e., that men are the leaders and women the submitters.

    To me you seem to be asserting your incorrect thesis based from a perspective of hostility.

    @ All:

    I am predicting another doosey of a thread………

  20. Feminine But Not Feminist

    @ insanity

    Yeah I read your post that you wrote today, along with the resulting comments. I saw zero specific examples of behavior listed there to back up what you were claiming, which is why I suspect that it’s a matter of perception. Meaning, a person’s behavior can be interpreted in different ways by different people based on their own beliefs and preconceived notions (whether those are indeed correct or not). So while one person sees authority of a husband over his wife as a good thing designed (in part) for her well-being, another will see it as abuse (even if he is very good and loving to her).

    And if you have no interest in blaming men, then you should stop doing so.

    And you’ve yet to actually state “the problem” in a way that makes any sense.

  21. Well, I’ve taken up enough space on this blog, so I’ll try to write a post about it.

  22. Tru

    I’m going to add some value to this conversation. I think once you get out the whips and chains, every woman fleas from submission. That is, all but Rihanna, who is not an acceptable wife for anyone here. Isolating the cause of this phenomenon would suffice itself manifestly.

  23. Novaseeker

    It can’t be seriously argued that a few fringe posters on a few blogs in one very sparsely populated corner of the internet are the reason why people are drifting away from Christianity. Really?

    Leon Podles wrote an excellent book about why *men* have been drifting away from the church for some time. It’s been made available online here: http://www.podles.org/files/Church-Impotent/ChurchImpotent_Chapter1.pdf

    Podles points out that, far from painting a caricature of the Church as dominated by misogynist loudmouths driving women away from faith, the actual reality is that the Church has become increasingly *feminized* over the course of the last few centuries, not decades, and that this trend has driven *men* away from the Church, and not women — which is why when you look around pretty much every kind of Church that isn’t Eastern Orthodox/Catholic or a small sect like the Amish, you tend to see women substantially outnumbering men, especially among unmarried attendees. The crisis in Christianity isn’t that women are alienated — the crisis is that men are, and because of that alienation, the Church is becoming more and more feminine, which deepens the cycle of alienation.

    If a few women are offput by admittedly misogynist commenters in the manosphere, well I’m not sure what to tell you. There are crazy people with all kinds of views on the internet, and in the manosphere. I don’t think you’ll find many of the actual *bloggers* taking misogynistic viewpoints (Dalrock, Donal, Phineas, FN, etc.), but sure the commenters are in some cases quite off the deep end. It’s the internet. If people are going to turn away from the Church because of a few anonymous comments on the internet, they were likely looking for a reason to turn away from the Church to begin with. And, in any case, as pointed out above, for every single woman who is alienated by some male Christian misogynist, there are 5-10 single men who are alienated by the feminized Church. To characterize the former as a critical issue when the latter really *is* a crisis is frankly overlooking reality.

  24. Agreed. Anyone who leaves the Church because a stranger on the internet said mean things was already planning on leaving and was only looking for a pretext to satisfy the hamster.

    I don’t have as much experience with Protestant churches, but women pretty much run the the Catholic Church in America in every position that doesn’t explicitly require a priest. Even then, if you’re in the hospital it’s 50/50 odds that a little old lady will bring you Communion instead of a priest. I’d argue that if the Church became a hard core Warhammer-style literal Church Militant then not only would men flock to her in droves, but the women who are already within the Church would be strengthened and the ones who are outside would give her another serious look.

  25. I agree with you Beefy. That is what is needed. And it wouldn’t push away women like its detractors would claim (and those who were shouldn’t have been there in the first place).

    Oh, and check the e-mail you use for WordPress.

Leave a Reply

