Saturday Saints- #22

Today’s Saint is St. Ulrich of Augsburg:

Saint Ulrich of Augsburg (c. 890 – 4 July 973), sometimes spelled Uodalric or Odalrici, was Bishop of Augsburg and a leader of the Roman Catholic Church in Germany.

The full wiki on him can be found here. A couple of facts that I found interesting about St. Ulrich:

  • He was the first Saint to be officially canonized by the Church
  • As Bishop of Augsburg, he reformed schools and churches, and built new ones, in addition to monasteries
  • While serving as Bishop he helped to bring peace between Emperor Otto I and his son Liudolf when the latter rebelled
  • When the Maygars attacked Germany Ulrich acted as a general to help defend Augsburg; his actions were essential to protecting the city from being sacked when it was later beseiged
  • He was known to have the highest moral character, and at least one letter was forged under his name to take advantage of that fact

St. Ulrich of Augsburg

 

6 Comments

Filed under Saturday Saints

6 responses to “Saturday Saints- #22

  1. No biggie, but it’s Magyars not Maybars (an unintentional slip on the keyboard, I’m sure).

    [DG: Good catch. Thanks, fixed now.]

    Just an aside: if you’re looking for a good Catholic wife, you might try to get to Central Europe (Slovakia or Poland) if you can; although even those countries, I must say, are becoming secularized fairly quickly. Still, if you have the money and the stomach for it, it may be an option, although it is by no means a certain one.

  2. Jason, several others have suggested Poland before, and a few have also suggested Slovakia. It is on my radar, certainly. I just hope that if I do try my luck there it won’t be too late.

  3. Guest

    Donal,

    I just wanted to thank you for writing about all these Christian saints.

    As a Protestant, I haven’t really been taught or learned much about “Catholic stuff,” and your posts inspired me to do a bit more research of my own into parts of Christian history and saints. It really is quite fascinating and helpful to learn from their lives!

    I heard about a “St. Laura” (whom I don’t believe you’ve written about yet) that was martyred for her faith in a giant cauldron of molten lead, and knew I had to learn more about her life.

    So, like a true Protestant, I went straight to wikipedia for the quick 411, which lead me to learn so much about a whole “martyr movement” in Cordoba, Spain during the 9th century that I hadn’t yet heard of.

    Then, I ran across this site , read the first chapter, and am still trying to absorb all the intricate richness of those times.

    Do you happen to know much about St. Laura and all the other saints of those times? What have you learned about all this stuff in your Catholic studies? How might your education/studies agree/disagree with what the above sources have concluded? I’m really curious to know!

    Thanks again!

  4. Guest,

    You are welcome. I’m glad you’ve found these posts interesting. While I find that many Protestants are well-versed on scripture (usually more so than Catholics, although that is slowly improving), I find that very few Protestants know much, if anything, about the history of the Church and Christianity. The lives and deaths of the Saints is a critical part of that history, as many had a huge influence on the development of the faith. To be honest, my own knowledge here was rather weak, and so I started this series as much for myself as for others. Good to know it has been a boon all around.

    No, I haven’t written about St. Laura yet. Nor am I that well-versed in her life. There are many, many saints I won’t ever have time to cover, I pick and choose based on a number of criteria, although my own curiosity is the powerful driving force there.

    I will check out that source, and let you know what I think of it. What I can tell you now is that some Christian martyrs were, shall we say, “over enthusiastic” about their martyrdom. Personally, I think it is a manifestation of guilt, if only because (and I venture into solipsism here) that has been my experience with such a mindset.

  5. David from Norway

    If you want to read something about overentusistic martyrs, check the saints Justo and Pastor. Two broyhers, age 7 and 9.

  6. Pingback: Saturday Saints- Registry | Donal Graeme

Leave a Reply

