The Bridegroom Is Away

14 Then the disciples of John came to him, saying, “Why do we and the Pharisees fast, but your disciples do not fast?” 15 And Jesus said to them, “Can the wedding guests mourn as long as the bridegroom is with them? The days will come, when the bridegroom is taken away from them, and then they will fast.

(Matthew 9:14-15)

Holy Saturday is a difficult day to write about. It lies between the sorrow and guilt of Good Friday, and the joy of Easter. Scripture sort of skips over it, and that isn’t really surprising when you think about it. After all, it was the Sabbath, a day of rest:

“Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days you shall labor, and do all your work, 10 but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God. On it you shall not do any work, you, or your son, or your daughter, your male servant, or your female servant, or your livestock, or the sojourner who is within your gates. 11 For in six days the Lord made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested on the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy.

(Exodus 20:8-11)

My approach for Holy Saturday has usually been to use it as a day of reflection and contemplation. Self-deprivation and denial I reserve for Good Friday, when it seems most appropriate. Instead, on this day I look back on the last year, and discern where I went right, and where I didn’t. I try and avoid distractions, which necessarily requires that I spend most of the day alone. Of course, being an introvert, that really isn’t a problem for me. Oftentimes I will use this day as an opportunity to refresh myself on the New Testament. That is my goal for this year as well.

I find this kind of seclusion and forced isolation to be very helpful to my spiritual life. Sometimes we all need the opportunity to sort our thoughts and find peace with ourselves and the world. Even Jesus saw the need to escape the bustle of life and went off at times to pray by Himself. So too I would encourage all my readers, and hope that they have a blessed Holy Saturday.

2 Comments

Filed under Christianity, God

2 responses to “The Bridegroom Is Away

  1. Patrick Pedat Ebediyah Golston

    Did not Christ actually RISE on the eve of the Holy Sabbath, brother?

  2. @ Patrick

    Depends on the Gospel account. I seem to recall one suggests as much. Another says on Sunday, another could be either, and one doesn’t say.

Leave a Reply

