One-Year Blogiversary: What’s In A Name?

Something I have found interesting is that in the more than one year that I have been blogging no one has asked me why I chose this particular pseudonym. Those who have looked it up will know that it is a reference to a science fiction character written by Gordon R. Dickson. In fact the name Donal Graeme is that of the main character of his book “Dorsai!”. As some of you might have guessed, I didn’t chose the name randomly. It was a deliberate choice on my part, which I will use this post to explain.

For those unfamiliar with Dorsai!, it is a military science fiction book that was written fifty years ago (needless to say, it is quite dated in respect to both the science and military matters). Of course, my blog is not a military themed one, so why choose that for inspiration? While I like the book, that alone played only a minor role in my choice. No, I chose to use the main character of Dorsai! as my pseudonym because it was my first introduction to the “Red Pill.”

Well, to be more precise, it should have been my first introduction to the Red Pill the true nature of men and women. A number of different subjects familiar to denizens of this part of the internet are to be found in the book: Hypergamy, Beta Orbiting, the emotional nature of women, the fact that women aren’t attracted to the “good” in men, and so on. They are discussed in a frank manner and obvious manner. No hiding the ball at all. And yet, despite this, I didn’t pick it up. Or at least, I didn’t retain any knowledge from the book.

I read it years ago, when I was a teenager, when it could have done me a considerable amount of good. Certainly it could have helped me into college and beyond. Unfortunately, reading Dorsai! availed me of nothing. Unwisely I lapped up the feminist and egalitarian philosophy that was being proscribed to me by my parents, my teachers and general society. The ideas presented in Dorsai! were outdated, “old-fashioned”, sexist. The ideas, and those like them, were to be ignored, cast away.  And I did just that. I drank deeply from the well of ignorance, and let my mind fall asleep. In short, I took the Blue Pill.

Dorsai! should have been my wake-up call. I should have been alerted that something was wrong, that there was a disconnect with what I was seeing and what I was being told. But like a fool I trusted those whom I looked up to, rather than my “lying” eyes. Upon discovering this part of the web and taking the “Red Pill”, I recalled what I had read long ago. And consequently was filled with shame. Unlike some of the others here, I at least had some measure of warning, of notice. But I failed to give it any heed.

Looking back, I realized that I had been given a taste of the truth, but had spit it right out. So when the time came for me to consider commenting around here, and to pick a name for myself, the choice was obvious. The name Donal Graeme would serve as my hairshirt. It would be a constant reminder to me of the failure to question, and what happens when I let my mind slumber. My hope was that constantly seeing it would prevent me from lapsing into willful ignorance once again. There is more to it, of course. Certain character traits match up between myself and the fictional Donal Graeme. Yet in the end all that  the similarities accomplished was make the choice easier.

Only time will tell if my pseudonym does its job. Maybe at some point I won’t need it any longer. Perhaps, if my station in life were to change, I would, could, drop this name and adopt another. Or maybe even choose to blog under my real name. But until then, I remain Donal Graeme.

9 Comments

Filed under Red Pill

9 responses to “One-Year Blogiversary: What’s In A Name?

  1. I never asked about the name because I found the explanation on your about page. Either that afternoon or the next day I found a copy at the used bookstore in town. Poor thing has definitely seen better days, looks and feels like it was dropped into a mud puddle. This was on the same day I found a book coauthored by Vox Day. I was amused by the coincidences.

  2. I read Dorsai! years ago but it made no impression on me. I can’t remember any of the characters or the storyline–beyond the mercenary SF genre.
    That probably says something about where my head was back then. But I have no idea what!

  3. Donal:

    Unlike some of the others here, I at least had some measure of warning, of notice. But I failed to give it any heed.

    I suspect that that is true of almost everyone in the “red pill” sphere, and that the reason the message finally got through was because it was packaged up with the promise of getting laid (or, less crassly, of fixing one’s troubles with the opposite sex).

    The PUA-sphere is an Internet billboard that screams “Nerds getting laid! Really!”, and that’s what it takes to open up most of the closed minds — because of the nature of those closed minds. The “nobody ever taught me” complaint is a (very unmanly by the way) attempt to avoid owning one’s own failures. By teaching each other to whine about how nobody ever taught them and it isn’t their fault, the denizens of the men’s sphere cement themselves in their effeminateness.

    Masculine men own their own shit. I commend you for setting an example in that regard.

  4. femininebutnotfeminist

    Interesting. I just assumed you related to the character in some way and chose his name for that reason. When I read a fictional book I always put myself in a character’s shoes (whichever character that I relate to or wish I was more like) so that only made sense to me. But you know what they say about assuming things…

  5. femininebutnotfeminist

    And +1 on what Zippy said about owning it and setting an example

  6. mdavid

    Zippy, I suspect that that is true of almost everyone in the “red pill” sphere, and that the reason the message finally got through was because it was packaged up with the promise of getting laid (or, less crassly, of fixing one’s troubles with the opposite sex).

    Don’t see that at all. “Red pill” knowledge hasn’t effected my sex life one bit. Sex isn’t what attracts me to game blogs; rather, it’s truthful discussion about human behavior (especially women).

    Methinks you presuppose a lot about other’s motives. I won’t reciprocate.

    The PUA-sphere is an Internet billboard that screams “Nerds getting laid! Really!”, and that’s what it takes to open up most of the closed minds — because of the nature of those closed minds.

    I don’t agree that the PUA-sphere = red pill sphere. Again, I won’t address the motive of people who wish to believe this.

    The “nobody ever taught me” complaint is a (very unmanly by the way) attempt to avoid owning one’s own failures.

    Once again, I disagree. I educate my children and believe that it’s a parent’s duty, just like learning to read and write, do math, or handle money. Parents who don’t teach their children about the reality of men and women have failed in their duty and therefore share in the failures of their children. My boys would have a valid complaint if I did not teach them red-pill truths, I would be party to their subsequent failures, and it’s certainly not “unmanly” at all for them to believe I have this obligation and complain if I don’t fulfill it.

  7. theshadowedknight

    NAWALT

    Thank you, Zippy, for that excellently reasoned response to the points raised. It is nice to see a respectful use of the dialectic in conversation. Too often, comments turn into a shouting match with sarcasm and insults ruling and ruining the discussion. It is a relief to have someone who is willing to rise above and offer truly intelligent arguments.

    That aside, I was actually physically handed Neil Strauss’s The Game years before I found the Androsphere. I was also exposed to MMSL about a year and a half before I came back to find out what was wrong with me. At once I am glad that I did not find it when I was not mature enough to handle it, but I also regret not finding it soon enough to change what happened. I walked away from truth twice before I came to it on my own. Makes me wonder, how did that happen like that?

    We all make mistakes, Donal. It speaks highly of you that you accepted them and worked to fix them once you finally realized them for what they were. I hope you have enough time to make amends and recover from them and make your life what you want of it.

    The Shadowed Knight

  8. Pingback: Q & A | Donal Graeme

Leave a Reply

