Selected Sunday Scripture- #7

This will be another short post today, in part because I am working (slowly) on another post that integrates a lot of scripture. The first passage is a Psalm that speaks to me right now:

O Lord, rebuke me not in thy anger,
nor chasten me in thy wrath.
Be gracious to me, O Lord, for I am languishing;
O Lord, heal me, for my bones are troubled.
My soul also is sorely troubled.
But thou, O Lord—how long?

Turn, O Lord, save my life;
deliver me for the sake of thy steadfast love.
For in death there is no remembrance of thee;
in Sheol who can give thee praise?

I am weary with my moaning;
every night I flood my bed with tears;
I drench my couch with my weeping.
My eye wastes away because of grief,
it grows weak because of all my foes.

Depart from me, all you workers of evil;
for the Lord has heard the sound of my weeping.
The Lord has heard my supplication;
the Lord accepts my prayer.
10 All my enemies shall be ashamed and sorely troubled;
they shall turn back, and be put to shame in a moment.

(Psalm 6)

The second passage is from the Letter to the Romans:

Therefore, since we are justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. Through him we have obtained access to this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in our hope of sharing the glory of God. More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not disappoint us, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us. While we were yet helpless, at the right time Christ died for the ungodly. Why, one will hardly die for a righteous man—though perhaps for a good man one will dare even to die.

(Romans 5:1-7)

I must confess that I have done a poor job rejoicing in my suffering. Even though I know that my suffering has ultimately been good for my soul, I have resented it more often than not. Finding joy has always been difficult for me, and I know this to be one of my greater failings as a Christian. Perhaps it is my Celtic blood manifesting itself, but I have always had a grim or dour attitude that is focused on doing my duty to God. This is an area that I know I need to work on, but it will be an uphill battle for me. Between my own perseverance and the Grace of God, I hope to make some headway in this aspect of my faith (it is in fact one of my resolutions for the year).

3 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Selected Sunday Scriptures

3 responses to “Selected Sunday Scripture- #7

  1. As I tell people when this topic comes up – there are some things that can’t be learned any other way.

    Developing a health problem teaches the value of good health. Loss of a loved one teaches the value of your friendships and relationships. And so on…

  2. Praying through the book of Psalms from start to finish was really good for me. I prayed through one each morning before anyone else woke up – aloud and on my knees. David’s ability to rejoice even in the midst of difficulty in inspirational.

    I think I will do that again soon.

  3. Thank you for that idea SSM. I think I will give it a try this year, although it might be easier for me to read a Psalm at the end of the day, rather than the beginning.

Leave a Reply

