Being Thankful

It is so easy to focus on everything that is wrong with your life that you tend to lose sight of what has gone right. I have a lot to be thankful for, far more than what I have cause to mourn:

I am thankful that my family is still intact; that my parents are still married and none of our family is estranged from one another.

I am thankful for my good health, and that of those dear to me.

I am thankful for my security and safety, and that I don’t fear for my life at all times.

I am thankful that I do not want for food, or water, or shelter at night. That I don’t have to worry when my next meal will be, or if I will have enough clothes and warmth to survive the winter.

I am thankful for friends that care about me, and whom I care for in turn.

I am thankful that my Lord loved me enough that He was willing to suffer death for my sins on a cross. I thank those who introduced me to my faith, and helped keep it strong over my life. I am thankful that I may worship my God in peace, and have not been required to lay down my life for my faith.

Praise the Lord!
I will give thanks to the Lord with my whole heart,
in the company of the upright, in the congregation.
Great are the works of the Lord,
studied by all who delight in them.
Full of honor and majesty is his work,
and his righteousness endures forever.
He has gained renown by his wonderful deeds;
the Lord is gracious and merciful.
He provides food for those who fear him;
he is ever mindful of his covenant.
He has shown his people the power of his works,
in giving them the heritage of the nations.
The works of his hands are faithful and just;
all his precepts are trustworthy.
They are established forever and ever,
to be performed with faithfulness and uprightness.
He sent redemption to his people;
he has commanded his covenant forever.
Holy and awesome is his name.
10 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom;
all those who practice it have a good understanding.
His praise endures forever.

(Psalm 111)

[My next post might be password protected, depending on how I go with it. If it is, those interested can request access here in the comments or by e-mailing me via the address in my About page.]

Update: Password is going out soon.

17 Comments

Filed under Christianity, God

17 responses to “Being Thankful

  1. theshadowedknight

    Count me in. I love a good talk, or a good argument. Whichever.

    The Shadowed Knight

  2. Frank the Wanderer

    I’d like access. I may or may not comment, but I’d like to learn.

  3. Ton

    I am thankful the Lord has made me strong and my thinking clear.

    As always Donal, I would like to read what you write

  4. If it is, I’d be interested in access

  5. Deep Strength

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    I’m in of course.

  6. Je Suis Prest

    I’d be interested in the post please!

    (And I love the list of what you’re thankful for!)

  7. I would also like to read your upcoming post — enjoy your insights!

  8. If women are allowed, I would like to read it as well. If not, no problem, I understand!

  9. ballista74

    I’m in.

  10. Donal,

    I’d like access as well, please.

  11. femininebutnotfeminist

    Ditto!

  12. I’d like to read your post as well, Donal. Please.

  13. If I missed anyone who wanted to be included, let me know again. I’m sure I overlooked somebody.

  14. AJ

    Hi Donal, I would also like access to your new post please. Enjoy your writing a lot!

  15. Yes please Donal 🙂

Leave a Reply

