A Light in the Darkness

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things came into being through him, and without him not one thing came into being. What has come into being in him was life, and the life was the light of all people. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not overcome it.

(John 1:1-5)

This post is intended to be a sequel and response to my last major post, All Alone in the Dark. That proved to be a rather depressing and pessimistic post, far more so than I intended. The major reason why is because it conveyed the darkness that I was finally able to perceive when I took the Red Pill but did not include the silver linings in the cloud, which this post will address.

Of Pills and Game

There is no universal understanding of what “Game” is. Everyone seems to have their own definition. This is largely why I consider myself to be part of the “Red Pill Christian” side of the manosphere (which itself has many names but is much more easily defined). Instead of referring to Game, I prefer to use the phrases “Red Pill” and “Blue Pill.” But of course, there are disagreements about what exactly “Red Pill” and “Blue Pill” actually mean. Here is one example of defining Red Pill and Blue Pill:

Red Pill: Seeing people with their natural/sinful/feral personalities and instincts, their “true” motivations instead of “happy ever after lies”
Blue Pill: Lies we’ve been told about how men and women should act to be kind towards each other, but it simply doesn’t work to create attraction or motivation from your partner to actively like you.

Now, this isn’t a half bad explanation. But unfortunately Sis conflates the Red Pill with the idea of there being a “Red Pill Philosophy.” But the Red Pill is not a philosophy. There is no single philosophy derived from the Red Pill. Instead, you see several different reactions:

1) The PUA’s

2) The MGTOW’s

3) “Red Pill Christians” (there are so many different possible names, from “Christian Revivalists” to “Biblical Restorationists”)

4) MRA’s

Now, each side vehemently disagrees with each other on how to act, on how to respond to the situation we all find ourselves in. What do they agree upon? The state of society, the true nature of men and women, and the general direction of culture and civilization. They agree about the Red Pill. So what is the Red Pill? Simple: The Red Pill is the truth about men and women. Nothing more, nothing less.

Red Pill: The truth, often suppressed, about male and female nature, especially their sexual nature. The full depths of the Red Pill would probably take a whole series of posts to lay out in detail.

Blue Pill: The information put out by the general culture about male and female nature, especially sexual nature. It is a product of both ignorance and deception. Like its opposite, it would take a long time to explain all of the lies and ignorance passed off as truth under the guise of the Blue Pill.

The Red Pill is truth, and the Blue Pill is lies and ignorance.  Philosophy and Religion come in only in response to the truth. What is the Red Pill? Understanding that Men and Women are fallen, sinful creatures. How we choose to react to this is something else entirely. Rejecting the truth, spitting up the Red Pill and swallowing the Blue Pill, is not only foolish, but for Christians should be recognized as an action that will enslave us. For Christians, taking the Red Pill is merely a refresher course in The Fall, with the addition of some extra knowledge about how human’s behave when sexuality is involved. There is nothing holy about rejecting the Red Pill, because there is nothing holy about embracing ignorance.

Re-examining what Sis said about the Blue Pill, we can see where she went astray:

Blue Pill: Lies we’ve been told about how men and women should act to be kind towards each other, but it simply doesn’t work to create attraction or motivation from your partner to actively like you.

The newly bolded section is where Sis goes off track. The Blue Pill, the lies and ignorance promoted by society, isn’t about how we should act to be kind towards one another. Instead, the Blue Pill teaches that acting kind towards one another, or to be more accurate, Men acting nice and kind towards women generates attraction. It teaches that women are attracted to nice, kind, compassionate men. That is the message of “Churchians,” and they preach it long and loud. And it is simply untrue. A kind and compassionate man doesn’t attract women (nor vice versa). Those are comfort traits, desirable traits, “Retention Vectors.” [I still don’t know why I used vectors instead of attributes; really, it just doesn’t fit] The kinds of things that add value to a relationship. But they don’t attract women. And a man being “nice” to women is actually unattractive, because being nice is seen (sub-consciously) as weakness by women, and weakness is unattractive in a man.

As Christians, we are called to be compassionate. But society, in the form of the Blue Pill, teaches people that niceness and kindness and compassion are attractive. They aren’t. We should be kind and compassionate, but we should not embrace the notion that they will be attractive to the opposite sex. Christianity and the Red Pill are entirely compatible with one another, because Christianity has no fear of the Truth, and that is what the Red Pill represents. Indeed, discovering the Red Pill has actually invigorated my faith, because it has re-affirmed universal truths concerning the Fall, the roles of husband and wife in marriage, and the nature of men and women in general.

Of Hope

My second to last post was pretty grim. It was meant to be:

When I occasionally mention my frustrations with life to those close to me, I often hear that I have my whole life ahead of me. That is no measure of comfort; because I will be living that life alone and unloved. Some commentators in the manosphere argue that a man doesn’t need a woman, that he shouldn’t bother with them, that they aren’t worth the effort. Perhaps they are fortunate enough to not experience the ache. Maybe they are just lucky, or gifted perhaps. Or they maybe they are so filled with bitterness and anger that they can no longer feel it. But that isn’t me. I feel alone, I am alone. And it is not Good that man should be alone. But I need to accept that being alone might be my fate. I am not sure which I fear more: telling my parents that they will never have grand-children, or discovering that the ache isn’t numbed by the passage of time.

But for all the darkness inherent in that post, there are things to be hopeful about, and even thankful about, in my life.

1) I am not trapped in a nightmare marriage– For all of my woes (which in the grand scheme of things aren’t that bad) I still have a lot of freedom. If a path opens up for me, I have the ability to choose to take it or not. Considering how thoroughly I bought into the Blue Pill for years, if I had in the past somehow married, the odds are good it wouldn’t have ended well. I wouldn’t have known what to look for in a wife. Nor would I have known the right attitude to take when approaching matrimony; my unattractive behavior would have pretty much guaranteed that I would have married poorly.

2) I am not divorced– Considering how Blue Pill I was, it wouldn’t have been unthinkable for my marriage to have fallen apart. While I wouldn’t have been the one to file for divorce, my wife could have, and there is nothing I could have done to stop it. Setting aside the issue of whether re-marriage is allowed or not, the financial and emotional cost of divorce would likely have crippled me.

3) I know what women find attractive and unattractive– Now that I’ve taken the Red Pill, I understand that being nice is the last thing I want to do if I want to attract a woman. I have a theory about the different measures that a woman uses to decide whether she is attracted to a man or not.

4) I know my worth– Having taken the Red Pill, I no longer default to putting women on a pedestal. I understand that my SMV value is increasing over time, and that I have what women want.

5) I understand what women are looking for– All that soft music, and candlelight, and wonderful romance which women say they crave? Well, they do want it… from a man they are attracted to. But what they want even more than that is to be dominated. Because that domination by a man, who treats her as his woman, makes her feel safe. If I do get married in the future, I will know what I need to do to make her feel loved, not unloved.

6) I know what to look for in a good wife– Scripture provides a powerful example of a good woman and I know what to avoid. In addition, I have learned  how to vet a future wife.

7) I know the pitfalls to avoid– Without the Red Pill I wouldn’t even know fitness tests exist. But I do know, and will be ready for them. I can take steps to avoid becoming a statistic.

There are more, and I will add them to this list as time passes. Even when I feel he jaws of crushing despair, I know that things could be much, much worse. Not everything is darkness in my life. Perhaps my life will not end up looking like I thought it would when I was younger. I might not have all that I wanted. But I didn’t end up as a statistic, and my future still belongs to me.

7 Comments

Filed under Blue Pill, Christianity, Churchianity, LAMPS, Marriage, Red Pill

7 responses to “A Light in the Darkness

  1. Martel had an excellent post describing the terminology in the clearest way I’ve seen yet.

    The ‘blue pill life’ as someone living as if the ideals we desire were the reality of the world we live in. The ‘red pill life’ is seeing the realities of how humans are designed, taking those, and intelligently acting in ways that respond to those realities (which may sometimes be ‘not nice’) in order to come closer to the ideals we desire to achieve in the world we live in.

    The Christian way to view the terminology:
    Blue pill – ignoring the fall from the mistaken belief that ignoring it will bring us closer to overcoming it.

    Red pill – accepting the fall in the belief that the truth can be acted upon, where as lies cannot.

    Going off this definition I think your self assessment is honest and accurate. Your life isn’t perfect, but you’re able to honestly look at your short comings, try to improve them, and make reasonable long term plans to achieve your life goals. I think that this is essential to finding satisfaction in life, and I enjoy reading posts like the last few you’ve had. They’re great indicators that I am not alone. That many of us have the same struggles and will find a way through them, adapting to individual circumstances but seeing that there are trends affecting all men which we can learn from.

  2. Deep Strength

    Leap,

    I like Martel’s analogy a lot.

    Donal,

    Great post. There is definitely a lot to be thankful for.

    The red pill also revitalized my Christian walk as well. I always felt off in my church and it was driving me towards the world because reality and what was being preached and given as advice didn’t really fit. I wouldn’t really call it a lie, but I didn’t have a clear view. I was ignorant and living in ignorance.

    Being able to more clearly see the truth in the Bible has strengthen my resolve and brought to a newer understanding of my faith. Although the taste is bitter, it was definitely worth it even I have to live celibately for much longer.

  3. Sis

    I like how you separate the diffent reactions of people from the actual red pill, maybe I’ve only been seeing one side of the reactions so I don’t quite get the others so it feels more like a philosophy. I’m not convinced there isn’t a philosophy.

    You’re right about kindness being a retention vector and not an attraction trait, I like how kindness is still considered a good thing in a relationship from a man.

    I think you are way ahead of most men when looking for a wife, you probably will save yourself lots of trouble because of your wisdom.

    Usually when Christians are referring to a light in the darkness, they mean Christ.
    1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 He was with God in the beginning. 3 Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. 4 In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. 5 The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. John 1:1-5

  4. Thanks for pointing that out Sis. I was supposed to have those lines from John be the beginning of the post. I will correct that now.

  5. If it is any consolation…I’m in the same boat as you. But I’d rather know the pitfalls and what to avoid…than to get married without a clue about women so that I can tempoarily rid myself of loneliness.

    Being single has given me plenty of free time to do the things to improve my little section of the world. Time I wouldn’t have if I had a wife and kids to worry about. Sometimes the best way to cure lonliness is just do like a PUA and cold approach. But I decided to take it past just women and cold approach anyone…guys, eldery, people in families…you get to meet a lot of interesting people along the way.

    Besides we all have crosses to bear…better to take them on and help each other out than to stick your head in the sand hoping to avoid them.

  6. Pingback: Father Knows Best: Now I know my ABCs Edition | Patriactionary

  7. JB32

    You could say the blue pill is idealism and the red pill realism.

Leave a Reply

