A Fitness Test of Mass Destruction?

If you have been around the Christian manosphere a while, you have probably come across a man who mentions that he was the target/victim of a “nuclear rejection” in the past. For those unfamiliar with the term, a nuclear rejection is when a woman rejects a man’s expression of interest in her (asking her out on a date, for example) in a loud, dramatic and attention-gathering manner. Not only does it involves a rejection, but it is accompanied by her best efforts to belittle and humiliate the man in front of all witnesses. The woman is essentially trying to annihilate the man publicly, hence the use of the word nuclear.

While I have never been on the receiving end of one, I can image it would be something of a traumatic experience. Now that some time has passed since I first found the Red Pill, I have been thinking over why women use nuclear rejections. Why bother, after all? If the man is unworthy, why not just say no as quickly as possible and leave? I have a theory now that a nuclear rejection is more than just a rejection on steroids. I think there is something else going on. Badger has some theories of his own, but I have a different idea: I think think that a nuclear rejection might in fact be a form of fitness or “shit” test.

When a woman starts into a nuclear rejection, she is launching the ultimate fitness test against the guy. Possibly due to her past experiences with him, or the way that he is approaching her, or the general setting, but she finds his masculinity lacking and him utterly unattractive. Whatever the cause, she is subconsciously giving him an opportunity to beat this test and force her to re-evaluate him as a potential mate. Perhaps his abrupt interest in her causes her to respond in a defensive manner, which for women takes the form of the passive-aggressive fitness test. Since she has just been put on the spot in a big way, the sense of insecurity is greatly heightened, and her response is that much more powerful.  If this is what is happening in a nuclear rejection, then the real question is how to respond…

16 Comments

Filed under Fitness Test, Red Pill

16 responses to “A Fitness Test of Mass Destruction?

  1. Deep Strength

    That may be the case.

    However, the real problem is that most of the men in the church today are so thoroughly feminized that they will 99.99% of the time back down from a nuclear rejection. I know I would have difficulty with it… but then again I haven’t been in the manosphere that long yet so I still have many things to work on.

    If we operate under the assumption that it is a nuclear fitness test, then what is the best way to respond?

    I can think of a couple options such as:

    ~Reversing the call out on her for airing laundry publically
    ~State that you feel sorry that she treats her brothers in Christ so poorly etc.
    ~”it looks like I was mistaken for being interested in you with that type of attitude.”

    And perhaps combine it with some type of action like the walk-away-dust-off-the-sandals.

    Basically, IMO you need to “do good for your enemies so as to heap burning coals on [her] head” and basically reassert some type of frame control before walking away.

    Then again, I’m no veteran of the manosphere, so I’m sure someone like deti could come up with some type of option better than this.

  2. I’m not a veteran either, so that’s why I threw the question out there. The best response is probably straight out of the John Wayne playbook:

    Of course, in this day and age that is something that would likely result in a lawsuit and/or criminal action.

  3. Deep Strength

    I’ve “threatened” women with spanking before. I think they actually would’ve enjoyed it. But of course, they actually have to be attracted to you first otherwise it’s “creepy.”

  4. Sis

    Maybe go completely caveman on her?

    [Ed: Fixed]

  5. I think what it is, is an ego-expression of just ‘how high value’ she is to those around her, that is is so insulting this beast would approach her. Think about this…if it was just her and the guy, would it turn nuclear? Not a chance.

  6. deti

    donal:

    Interesting theory of nuclear rejection as fitness test. But I don’t think so.

    The fitness test seeks to gauge his mettle as a man: to invite him to push back, to try harder, to try again, to display his masculinity.

    The nuclear rejection goes beyond the fitness test because the woman deploying it has already evaluated him. Her hamster has said “NO NO NO NO NO NOT IN A MILLION YEARS NEVER NO WAY UNH HUH TAKE US TO DEFCON 1.” The nuclear rejection is designed to cause the man never, ever, ever, ever to even think about her ever again.

  7. That is the traditional take on it. My theory was just that, a theory. An interesting idea I wanted to express to start a debate.

    What I am suggesting is that perhaps she is giving him a final opportunity to assert some masculinity and correct her extreme behavior. I guess the basis of it is that women want men to correct their bad behavior, and she is acting bad because she subconsciously wants him to correct her. If he corrects her, then he clearly isn’t a low value man. This is important because a low value man expressing interest in her suggests that she herself is of low value, which is an awful thing for a woman to consider. Remember, they don’t like to be judged, and if she is approached by a Alpha-less loser than she will be judged by the other women. The self-preservation hamsterization is still present, but expresses itself in a fitness test of mass destruction.

    Of course, maybe I am just assigning too much to the female sub-conscious.

    This scene heavily influences my theory:

    Women love emotional rollercoasters, and a man who seems like a wimp but responds like a tyrant would give a woman an emotional thrill of epic proportions.

  8. If the man is unworthy, why not just say no as quickly as possible and leave? I have a theory now that a nuclear rejection is more than just a rejection on steroids. I think there is something else going on. Badger has some theories of his own, but I have a different idea: I think think that a nuclear rejection might in fact be a form of fitness or “shit” test.

    I don’t know if you were around yet when I shared this story at my place, but I rejected someone a little too quickly once. I was about 20 and he was a friend, and there was nothing wrong with him, but I just was not attracted to him even one little bit. When he asked me about the possibility of romance, I turned him down very firmly and quickly. It wasn’t a nuclear rejection but it was too quick and direct, and I hurt his feelings, which I’ve always felt badly about. So I don’t think turning someone down “as quickly as possible” is always the best strategy. I should have pretended like it was a tough decision, maybe.

    But I will say this – I wasn’t fitness testing the guy. If he had persisted, I would have been very, very upset. Even sitting here imagining him continuing to push the issue makes me feel creepy-crawly. No.

    The nuclear rejection is designed to cause the man never, ever, ever, ever to even think about her ever again.

    Yes, that is more accurate. I wanted the guy I turned down never, ever, ever, to even consider thinking of me that way ever again. Ever. Persistence would have resulted in a much more nuclear rejection from a hysterical co-ed, I think.

  9. Thanks for your reply SSM. That seems to confirm Deti’s assessment that it is a defense mechanism. Your comment makes it seem like the fear of judgment isn’t part of it, but rather just a general disgust at the thought of mating with the rejected man.

  10. I guess the basis of it is that women want men to correct their bad behavior, and she is acting bad because she subconsciously wants him to correct her. If he corrects her, then he clearly isn’t a low value man.

    We want men to whom we are already attracted to correct our bad behavior. That’s what a fitness test is. If he passes it, we can keep feeling attracted to him.

    This scene heavily influences my theory:

    On the spanking scene:

    Being spanked by a man to whom we are attracted? Yummy!
    Being spanked by a man to whom we are not attracted? Hello? 9-1-1?

  11. Your comment makes it seem like the fear of judgment isn’t part of it, but rather just a general disgust at the thought of mating with the rejected man.

    More the general disgust, yes. He was a friend and we were alone. I didn’t do bar-hopping in college, that wasn’t my scene at all, so I don’t know how it is for girls in public with a man they barely know. In that case, it might be a fear of judgement.

  12. “We want men to whom we are already attracted to correct our bad behavior. That’s what a fitness test is. If he passes it, we can keep feeling attracted to him. ”

    I stand corrected. That is the correct understanding of a fitness test, which I didn’t apply. Just goes to show how you should never become too attached to an idea.

    “On the spanking scene:

    Being spanked by a man to whom we are attracted? Yummy!
    Being spanked by a man to whom we are not attracted? Hello? 9-1-1?”

    Well, the thing about that scene is that Margarita wasn’t attracted to him before the spanking, but was afterwards. However, this is Hollywood we are talking about, so it would behoove someone not to put too much faith in its accuracy.

  13. deti

    In addition to SSM’s explanation, I think the nuclear rejection is as Badger had said, the woman’s visceral reaction to a low value man’s thinking he is in her league. After all, if he is low value, then she must also be low value. Her hamster is screaming, “THIS is the caliber of man I attract? THIS?!?! If this is the best I can do then I am also low value!!”

  14. Pingback: Winnowing the Weak | Donal Graeme

  15. Maeve

    Hmmm – “yummy” is not the word that comes to mind when I think of a man striking a woman (nor the other way around).

  16. Pingback: Women Will Never Struggle as Much as a Man | The Reinvention of Man

Leave a Reply

